NCAC Election Turnout Low

The NCAC held its elections yesterday; however only approximately 76 people actually voted, and only two areas have fully elected representatives. The Santa Maria Times reports:

The 76 voters who turned out Monday for elections to the Nipomo Community Advisory Council – which will now be called the South County Advisory Council – were about 100 voters less than last year, said Elections Chairwoman Mary Woodson, who attributed the lower turnout to rain, among other factors.

“I think I only saw three people who came out to vote from Blacklake, and the area which includes Cypress Ridge only had four voters. I was there all day, so I was taking notice,” said Woodson.

I found it rather interesting that, at least according to previous news reports, Cypress Ridge, the community which spurred the NCAC to change its named to be more representative, had only four voters who bothered to show up and participate. They also only have one candidate representing the area, though, like all other communities could have fielded and run two candidates. Makes one wonder just how interested the folks out in Cypress ridge really are about their “representation” on the NCAC.

I don’t think this election is much different from many in our community, at least in terms of voter interest.  All too often voters don’t take advantage of the opportunity to vote–though since there were no uncontested slots in this election, it’s hard to generate more voter interest.  Regardless, thanks to those individuals who did bother to run, and to vote.  Congratulations on your new seats on the council.  Best of luck as you grapple with the issues that will come before the council this year.  If you are interested in petitioning to fill one of the vacant seats you should appear at the next NCAC meeting, on Monday, 3/27/06.

21 thoughts on “NCAC Election Turnout Low

  1. Amazing things here. I am very glad to look your article.

    Thank you so much and I’m taking a look ahead to contact you.
    Will yyou kindly ddop mee a mail?

  2. On the other hand, customers also have the option of using the internet to just find
    out where the physical stores are located. But after six months,
    they expect to gain much better sales. This is because local marketing agencies are
    more familiar with the consumers in this part of the world and would be
    able to suggest better strategies based on consumer
    behavior.

  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically
    tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this
    for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy
    reading your blog and I look forward to your new
    updates.

  4. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you might
    be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely
    will come back down the road. I want to encourage one to continue your great writing,
    have a nice weekend!

  5. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which
    blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.

    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  6. you’re in reality a just right webmaster. The web site loading speed is amazing.
    It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Furthermore,
    The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a magnificent activity on this
    topic!

  7. I think that everything said made a ton of sense. However, think on this, suppose
    you composed a catchier title? I am not suggesting your content isn’t
    good., but what if you added something that grabbed
    people’s attention? I mean NCAC Election Turnout Low
    | Nipomo News is a little plain. You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create news headlines to get people to open the links.
    You might try adding a video or a pic or two to get people interested about what
    you’ve written. Just my opinion, it would bring your posts a little livelier.

  8. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your blog.
    It seems like some of the text in your posts are running off the screen.
    Can somebody else please provide feedback and let
    me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a issue with my web browser
    because I’ve had this happen previously. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

